I n d i G o| b L u

WordPress.com

Muse|Me

 Music in of itself is inspiration; it’s refreshing, it’s invigorating; it’s enlightening. As a little girl, in the fresh scent of the morning air and illuminating sun, I would abscond to a secluded area with a small, portable radio under the shadow of a tree. Although my life was not convoluted and fairly austere, music kept it more interesting, so it became something I met with alacrity. It assuaged the long, summer kissed days.

 Oldies

This stuff is all my parents ever listened to, so I grew up to love  the now very familiar and disparate sounds of “Reasons”| “After the Love Has Gone” by Earth, Wind, & Fire,  “A Love Of Your Own”|“Cloudy” by AWB, “Never too Much”| “Power of Love” by Luther Vandross,  “Boogie Nights” by Heatwave, “Do It Again” by The Staple Singers, “For The Good Times”| “Love & Happiness” by Al Green,  and “Ohh , Child”| “Because I Love You” by Lenny Williams. At barbeques and family gatherings the music would blare “Outstanding! Girl you knock me out!” or “Yearning for Your Love” by Gap Band and we, as kids, would all dance and were met with approbation by the adults.

 Bobby Womack

“Harry Hippie”|

“That’s the Way I Feel About Cha”

                                                                                                               Bobby Womack and Marvin Gaye quickly became two of my all time favorites. They are the embodiments of authenticity; they were connoisseur in their professions. Womack looked into a mundane society and gave veracity in a story. Gaye displayed disabuse for the world in all its injustice in songs like “What’s Going On”| “Mercy Mercy Me”| “Inner City Blues”.  Maybe this was my first, real window and lens into a world that was hurting and still hurts today even as his words echo on an old record or through speakers many years later. He enervated me directly in “Distance Lover” while experiencing fresh, young love in all the numerous ways one is to experience it.

In contrast to most of the discordant music of today, the soul of these artists is evident in their sound- undoubtedly clear, eloquent yet effrontery, honest, and full of life.  It becomes axiomatic to me as I listen 17 years later to their soulful voices and it still fills me with so much love and inspiration…even more…wisdom.

Jazz

Rachelle Ferrell

“I Forgive You”| “I Can Explain”

                 It was years ago! I think I heard her beautiful voice in a movie and wondered who she was and what she was like, all together. Her words and voice were powerful, distinct, and lucid. Who was this woman?! I didn’t know but just last year, I heard the voice again. BET Jazz was hosting a show with yours truly—Rachelle Ferrell—and her voice was just as memorable as before. She defiantly possessed magnanimity and her music and personality portrayed it; her words were like an exigent rush of water that ironically remained calm.

Louis Armstrong is a multi-talented classic. His immediately recognizable raspy yet mellow, deep voice singing “What a Wonderful World” can easily capture anyone; he makes you believe it. Seeing this man play his trumpet with such passion and ease may have been part of what inspired me to pick up a saxophone and later …….my own enduring inspiration, the violin                   

 

3 Comments»

  Amir wrote @

Hey gul, I just have a glimpse look at your blog, which is why I’ll not be able to a detailed comment on it. However, I can see how you organized the contents, the articles and other features have grabbed my attention. I’ll be back with some more comments later on but for now, it’s really good as a startup and I look forward to seeing lots of good staff for the days to come. Just keep up the good work.

Regards

  Amir wrote @

Hey Christy, you came up with a very nice thing today. I really wanna appreciate what you wrote about the Envious nature of women. I am sure most of us do know that enviousness exists in both men and women, but the latter one is the more visible and influential. I hope even women know about this very well. But the thing that I wonder about is that if many of the women know about it, why don’t they try to do something about it. Most of the times I hear women saying that women are envious to each other, but they will keep doing it one time or the other on various circumstances.
So, I hope it’ll be great for the well being of the individual and for the society, as women are the main part of the society, to know about this problem and search for a solution not to be develop envious feeling towards one another.

Looking forward to seeing some more interesting news for the days to come. Till then, chaw!

  indigoblu wrote @

Thank you for commenting, but you posted under the wrong article. Check out the comments for “Envious|Nature|of Women”; I replied to you there.


Leave a Reply

